New Music for Silent Films by UCB Composers

New scores for silent films by undergraduate and graduate composers from UC Berkeley's Music Department. Students in two courses taught in Spring 2001 -- Professor Edmund Campion's Introduction to Computer Music Composition at the Center for New Music and Audio Technologies, and Professor John Thow's Music Composition -- created original scores that were performed at the end of the semester for faculty and students, and from which PFA selected six to be presented in the public exhibition program.

Electronic scores composed and performed by:

- Hubert Ho for Dancing Pig (a Pathé production from about 1905, possibly directed by Ferdinand Zecca, 4-5 mins).
- Ben Jacobs for Groucho Marx Home Movies (c. 1933, 2 mins).
- Ahm Lee (in collaboration with performance by guitarist/composer John Schott) for Acrobatic Fly (Percy Smith, 1911, 2-3 mins).
- Ali Momeni and David Bithell for Interior NY Subway, 14th Street to 42nd Street (1905, American Mutoscope and Biograph Co., directed and photographed by Billy Bitzer, 5 mins).
- Alan Tormey for Acrobatic Fly and Interior NY Subway.
- Score for string quartet by:
Daniel David Feinsmith for The Fall of the House of Usher (James Sibley Watson Jr.,1928, c. 13 mins)

Add to iCal
Find on Google Maps

Sunday, October 28, 2001, 2:00am to 4:00am