+++ This concert takes place in Hertz Hall. +++

CNMAT, the Department of Music, and the Townsend Center for the Humanities present:

Eco Ensemble, UC Berkeley's professional ensemble in residence led by David Milnes, plays new works by Cal's distinguished PhD composers.

John McCallum: "Aberration", for percussion trio
Chris Froh, Loren Mach, and Dan Kennedy, percussion
"Aberration" for percussion trio is an exploration of independent, constantly-varying tempos. The three percussionists at times assert their own tempos while at other times they play carefully chosen rhythmic figures that combine to form musical material in a fourth tempo.


Matthew Goodheart: "For Clarinet and Metal Percussion", for Bb clarinet and computer-controlled metal percussion
Matt Ingalls, clarinet
"For Clarinet and Metal Percussion" (2010) is a work for solo clarinet and computer controlled gongs and cymbals, exploring the sonic and physical relationships between live and automated acoustic instruments.


Rama Gottfried: "One Loop for Nine", for amplified piccolo, amplified Eb clarinet, tenor saxophone, percussion, harp, piano, violin, viola and cello
Emma Moon, amplified piccolo; Matt Ingalls, amplified Eb clarinet; David Henderson, tenor saxophone; Stan Muncy, percussion; Dan Levitan, harp; Ann Yi, piano; Gloria Justen, violin; Ellen Ruth Rose, viola; and Vanessa Ruotolo, cello
"One Loop for Nine" is a concert version of a sound installation I did last year. The instruments act like tape heads on a flimsy loop of tape winding slowly around the ensemble —each instrument acting like a different kind of filter on the material. And the pitch material itself is also based on internally turning isorythms filtering sideband patterns.


Sivan Eldar: "Archive(s)", for electric violin, electric cello, and video projection
Gloria Justen, electric violin; Kathryn Bates Williams, electric cello
"Archive(s)" is a work for two videos and two performers that explores the symbiotic relationship between conductors, performers, and the act of musical expression.


Michael Nicholas: "the anticipation of inspiration", for baritone saxophone, bassoon, horn, trombone, two percussion, viola, and cello
David Henderson, baritone saxophone; David Grainger, bassoon; Nicholas Carnes, horn; Hall Goff, trombone; Chris Froh and Stan Muncy, percussion; Ellen Ruth Rose, viola; Vanessa Ruotolo, cello
“the anticipation of inspiration” is a timbral exploration written for baritone saxophone, bassoon, french horn, trombone, vibraphone, metal sheet, bass drum, viola and cello.

Add to iCal
Find on Google Maps

Tuesday, December 14, 2010, 4:00am to 6:00am