Graduate students from the UC Berkeley composition program will present new works featuring string quartet, soprano, and electronics on February 18, 2022.

Luke Dzwonczyk: “A Release from the Covering of Clay” for voice and electronics
Andrew Harlan: “HYPHA” for electronics
Eda Er: “Blah Blah Blah” for string quartet
Jeremy Wexler: “Choose your identity provider” for electronics
George Papajohn: “Duetto” and “Trope” for string quartet

Performed by the Eco Ensemble:

Amy Foote
Jooyeon Kong
Ilana Thomas
Ellen Rose
Leighton Fong


Splinter Reeds Residency & Concert

Splinter Reeds will be in residence at CNMAT this spring with a concert on March 18, 2002 in Hertz Hall featuring works from Hallie Smith, Andrew Harlan, Jon Yu, and James Stone.


SFCMP/CNMAT In The Community Concert

On December 19, 2021, and as part of the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players 2021-22 season’s in the COMMUNITY offerings, SFCMP presented works hailing from UC Berkeley’s Center for New Music and Audio Technologies.


CNMAT | Lyon Conservatory Exchange

The Center for New Music and Audio Technologies (CNMAT), the UC Berkeley Department of Music, and the Berkeley New Music Project are partnering with the Conservatoire National Supérieur Musique et Danse de Lyon (CNSMDL) in a collaborative concert featuring new compositions by Berkeley and Lyon Composers performed by the ECO Ensemble on December 8th at 8pm.  The same new compositions will travel to France in January as part of a featured concert in Lyon at Festival Empreintes.


Sound Encounters II — CNMAT & SFCMP

SFCMP and CNMAT are partnering to present Sound Encounters II as part of SFCMP’s in the community series. The event will feature works from several CNMAT artists and includes the world premiere of a new work for percussion and electronics by CNMAT director and longtime friend of SFCMP Edmund Campion, setting the stage for four acousmatic, electro-acoustic and multimedia compositions by Hallie Smith, Jon Yu, Andrew Harlan and Didem Coskunseven.


Concert Featuring the Work of Rafal Zapala

As the culminating expereince of Rafal Zapala's Fulbright residency at CNMAT, a concert featuring his work will be performed by the visiting Hashtag ensemble. It will focus on artistic theory surrounding new open forms of music intermediated by technological tools. These forms are explored in the context of written scores and live chamber music performance.


CUG Presents Ear Foil

The CNMAT Users Group (CUG) will present Ear Foil, a completely improvised concert for cello, violin, voice, and electronics. The work ranges from dense and internal states to billowing, ebullient, and expansive expressions of sound-with some short interruptions in between. Please join us for this free event!